Board and Committee Leadership

Championing the Georgia Academy of Family Physicians’ (GAFP) advancement of family medicine are physician leaders who inspire and mount initiatives, education, resources, and advocacy efforts in service to fellow physicians and Georgia families.

Board of Directors – 2018

Chair Eddie Richardson, MD Eatonton
President Loy “Chip” Cowart, MD Statesboro
Vice President Susana Alfonso, MD Atlanta
President-Elect Donald Fordham, MD Demorest
Secretary Tom Fausett, MD Smyrna
Treasurer Sharon Rabinovitz, MD Decatur
Speaker Jeff Stone, MD Canton
Vice Speaker Chris Wizner, MD Temple

District Directors and Alternates – 2018

Director, District 1 Thomas J. Miller, Jr., MD Claxton
Director, District 2 Michael Satchell, MD Albany
Director, District 3 Beverley Ann Townsend, MD Midland
Director, District 4 Kevin Johnson, MD Lawrenceville
Director, District 5 Susan C. Schayes, MD Marietta
Director, District 6 John Vu, MD Griffin
Director, District 7 Tom Bevill, MD Cartersville
Director, District 8 Jairaj Goberdhan, MD Adel
Director, District 9 Carl McCurdy, MD Jasper
Director, District 10 Sean Lynch, DO Augusta
Director, District 11 Adrienne Mims, MD Atlanta
Alternate Director, District 1 Angela Gerguis, MD Statesboro
Alternate Director, District 2 Derek Heard, MD Albany
Alternate Director, District 3 Dan Singleton, MD Buena Vista
Alternate Director, District 4 Carmen Echols, MD Conyers
Alternate Director, District 5 Shameka Hunt McElhaney, MD Smyrna
Alternate Director, District 6 W. Steven Wilson, MD Warner Robins
Alternate Director, District 7 Pamela Obi, MD Rome
Alternate Director, District 8 Jay W. Floyd, MD Brunswick
Alternate Director, District 9 Islam Eltarawy, MD Canton
Alternate Director, District 10 C. Judson Pickett, MD Augusta
Alternate Director, District 11 Ellie Daniels, MD Atlanta

Resident Board of Directors – 2018

Director: Jessica Brumfield, DO Moultrie
Director: Tolani Olagunju, MD Atlanta
Alternate Director: Aparna Mark, MD Decatur
Alternate Director: Jemese Richards-Boyd, MD Decatur

Student Board of Directors – 2018

Director: Carmen Collins Rome
Director: Macy McNair Atlanta
Director: Nicholas Schoenmann Gainesville
Alternate Director: Aaron Doctor Atlanta
Alternate Director: Drevon Jones Savannah
Alternate Director: Vacant

GAFP Committee Leadership – 2018

Education and Research
Chair: Theresa Jacobs, MD
Vice Chair: Ken Howard, MD
Chair: Sharon Rabinovitz, MD
Vice Chair: Christina Kelly, MD
Co-Chairs: Bruce LeClair, MD

Rick Wherry, MD

Chair: Michelle Cooke, MD
Vice Chair: Ivy Smith, MD
Practice Management
Chair: Jairaj Goberdhan, MD
Vice Chair: Michael Satchell, MD
Public Health
Chair: Jay Floyd, MD
Vice Chair: Sherma Peter, MD
Student and Resident Recruitment
Chair: Julie Dahl-Smith, DO
Vice Chair: Kevin Johnson, MD
Chair: Alice House, MD
Vice Chair: Howard McMahan, MD