Georgia Academy Delegation Shines and Wins National Recognition

At the AAFP Annual Chapter Leadership Forum and the National Conference of Constituency Leaders, the Georgia Chapter was recognized for winning second place for the largest increase in active membership for 2021.

The meetings are held concurrently and were back in person this year after a two-year in-person “pause” because of the pandemic.  These conferences are the AAFP’s leadership development event that empowers a select group of change makers to catalyze positive change in family medicine. ACLF and NCCL bring together chapter leaders from all over the nation to leadership skills and create lasting relationships with other family physician leaders

The Georgia delegation included the following leaders and staff:

  • Susana Alfonso, MD – Chapter President – Atlanta
  • Michael Satchell, MD – Albany
  • John Gerguis, MD – Statesboro
  • Angela Gerguis, MD – Statesboro – (NCCL Representative)
  • Le Church, MD, MPH – Hiawassee
  • Mike Busman, MD – Americus
  • Christina Kelly, MD – Ft. Benning – (NCCL Representative)
  • Monique Davis-Smith, MD – Macon
  • John Vu, MD – Griffin
  • Ali Bohannon – GAFP Manager of Operations and Membership
  • Kamela Boyd – GAFP Director of Communications and Marketing
  • Alesa McArthur – Deputy Executive Vice President
  • Fay Fulton – Executive Vice President