Awards & Accolades

The Georgia Academy of Family Physicians (GAFP) honors members exemplifying excellence in the practice of family medicine and for their national, state chapter and community-based leadership roles and contributions to clinical research and healthcare.

The nomination period for the 2021 GAFP Academy Awards is now OPEN.

2021 Awards Criteria and Nomination Information 

Family Medicine Physician of the Year

The highest award bestowed on a GAFP member recognizes excellence in peer leadership in professional affairs and outstanding contributions to family medicine and to the community. 

2021 Family Physician of the Year Award Criteria and Application
Family Medicine Educator of the Year

This award is bestowed on a deserving member who has been a leader in academic, community and professional affairs, along with making outstanding contributions to the profession or the community.

2021 Family Medicine Educator of the Year Criteria and Application
Family Medicine Resident of the Year

Awarded to the resident who exhibits dedication to family medicine through leadership and involvement in his/her residency program and in the community

2021 Resident of the Year Criteria and Application

Community and Volunteer Service Award

Awarded to a member who excels in service to their community and makes outstanding contributions in welfare, education, health, government, or the arts.

Volunteer and Community Services Award Criteria and Application
Keith Ellis, MD Resident Scholarship Award
Given to a Chief Resident or Co-Chief Resident who displays excellent leadership skills in their family medicine residency program.
2021 Keith Ellis Scholarship Award Criteria and Application
T.A. Sappington Award
This prestigious award is given to student members who have demonstrated their commitment to family medicine by choosing to attend a Georgia Family Medicine Residency Program. 
2021 T.A. Sappington Awards – Criteria and Application